Skip to main content
Horizon School Division
Creating a better world, one student at a time.
News Item

Horizon School Division's 2019 Excellence in Teaching Awards

September 03, 2019
September 3, 2019 - For Immediate Release


Humboldt, SK – This year's Excellence in Teaching Award winners were recognized as part of Horizon's annual Celebration Day event held in Humboldt, Saskatchewan on August 28. Four deserving teachers were honoured for their work and contributions to support students, families, and their colleagues.  

"We could not be more proud of our staff, and these teachers exemplify the goals our Board of Education has set for our organization," says Horizon School Division Director of Education, Kevin C. Garinger. "I congratulate this year's award recipients and thank them for being exceptional educators for our students and families."

Recipients of the 2019 Excellence in Teaching Awards are:

Leah Hergott – Grade 3, Humboldt Public School

Ms. Hergott.jpg

Gayle Fahlman – Kindergarten/Grade 1, Schell School

Ms. Fahlman.JPG

David Rowe – Senior ELA/History, Humboldt Collegiate Institute

Mr. Rowe.jpg

Cynthia Lovequist – Grade 1 /2, Bulyea School

Ms. Lovequist.jpg

The Excellence in Teaching Award winners are nominated by their school community and chosen by a selection committee made up of members from Horizon senior leadership and representatives from the Horizon Teachers' Association executive. The nomination process also requires a letter of support from a parent/caregiver, student, School Community Council member, and community member. These teachers distinguish themselves through their teaching and model the beliefs and ideals of the profession.


For more information/photos, please contact:                   

Lance Hiltz, Communication Services Officer