Skip to main content
Horizon School Division
Creating a better world, one student at a time.
News Item

Horizon Board of Education Holds Organizational Meeting

November 06, 2017
​November 6, 2017 - For Immediate Release

Humboldt, SK – The Horizon School Division Board of Education held its annual organizational meeting on Monday, November 6. Votes were cast for the Board's table officer positions of Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson. Jim Hack is returning to the position of Board Chair, and Wil Lengyel is returning to the Vice-Chair position.

"I want to thank my fellow trustees for the nomination, and for their confidence to elect me as the Board Chair for another year," said Mr. Hack. "Horizon School Division has seen many positive changes in recent years, to the benefit of our students, families, staff and communitites. I look very forward to continuing that important work with our Board."

Mr. Hack has served as Board Chair for Horizon School Division since 2011. As trustee for Subdivision 10, his subdivision communities include Ituna School, Foam Lake Composite High School and Foam Lake Elementary School. Mr. Lengyel has served as Vice-Chair since 2015, and previously from 2011 to 2014. As trustee for Subdivision 7, Mr. Lengyel's subdivision communities are Archerwill School, Rose Valley School, Robert Melrose School and Kelvington High School.

"I am grateful for the support of the Board and for the opportunity to serve as Vice-Chair for another year," Mr. Lengyel said. "I am honoured to serve in the role of Board Vice-Chair as we move forward with the great things happening in our system."

Horizon's Board of Education is made up of 14 publicly elected trustees representing Subdivisions from across Horizon. The organizational meeting of the Board is held each calendar year in accordance with the Education Act. At this meeting, trustees determine the Board's table officers, indemnity rates, incidental rates and other organizational items.

For more information regarding Horizon's Board, please visit

Org Meeting 2017.jpg


For more information, please contact:                  

Lance Hiltz
Communication Services Officer